Iditarod starting order

The Iditarod is upon us! Fan favorite DeeDee Jonrowe will lead out the mushers in the ceremonial start on Saturday in Anchorage followed by Ray Reddington, Jr.

With a small field of only 62 mushers to attempt the Iditarod, known as The Last Great Race, it should make for an interesting couple of weeks on the trail. With only 13 rookies, it is really anyone’s race!

Some of the mushers I am going to look out for are:

Bob Storey, 65 of New Zealand who got his start in mushing after a attending a dog show and soon caught the musher bug.

Dallas Seavey, this years Yukon Quest winner.

Heather Siirtola, of Talkeetna, Alaska and her Hardcore Huskies.

Lance Mackey who is going for an unprecedented 5-peat in this years race. Lance says he is at a 100% and so is his dog team.

Rookie musher Angie Taggart of Ketchkan, Alaska

And of course my friend, Hugh Neff and Annie’s Army. Let’s go Hugh, this is your year!

Follow the Iditarod daily on Mush! Yo Huskies Radio

Starting List

1. Leonhard Seppala Honorary Musher, Florence Busch, wife of late KNOM GM Tom Busch

2. DeeDee Jonrowe, Willow

3.  Ray Redington Jr, Wasilla

4. Trent Herbst, Ketchum, Idaho

5. Allen Moore, Two Rivers

6. Newton Marshall, St. Anne, Jamaica

7. Kristy Berington, Kasilof

8.  Kris Hoffman, Steamboat Springs, Colorado

9.  Zoya DeNure, Gakona

10. Robert Bundtzen, Anchorage

11. Martin Buser, Big Lake

12. Melissa Owens, Nome

13. Bruce Linton, Kasilof

14. Nicolas Petit, Girdwood

15. Bob Storey, Auckland, New Zealand

16. Jodi Bailey, Chatanika

17. Lance Mackey, Fairbanks

18. Aliy Zirkle, Two Rivers

19. Angie Taggart, Ketchkan

20. Kelley Griffin, Wasilla

21. Dallas Seavey, Willow

22. Magnus Kaltenborn, Lillehammer, Norway

23.  Hans Gatt, Whitehorse, Yukon Territories

24. Billy Snodgrass, DuBois, Wyoming

25. Tom Thurston, Oak Creek, Colorado

26. Ellen Halverson, Wasilla

27. Mike Santos, Cantwell

28. Mitch Seavey, Seward

29. Judy Currier, Fairbanks

30. Ramey Smyth, Willow

31. Sebastian Schnuelle, Whitehorse, Yukon Territories

32. Scott Janssen, Anchorage

33. Gerry Willomitzer, Whitehorse, Yukon Territories

34. Paul Gebhardt, Kasilof

35. Hugh Neff, Tok

36. Jessica Hendricks, Two Rivers

37. Karin Hendrickson, Willow

38. Wattie McDonald, Stonehaven, Scotland

39. Michelle Phillips, Tagish, Yukon Territories

40. G.B. Jones, Wasilla

41. Michael Williams, Jr., Akiak

42. Lachlan Clarke, Buena Vista, Colorado

43. Ken Anderson, Fairbanks

44. Brennan Norden, Kasilof

45) Sven Haltmann, Fairbanks

46. Paul Johnson, Unalakleet

47. Kirk Barnum, Grangeville, Idaho

48. Cain Carter, Fairbanks

49. Rick Swenson, Two Rivers

50. Heather Siirtola, Talkeetna

51. Robert Nelson, Kotzebue

52. Sonny Lindner, Two Rivers

53. John Baker, Kotzebue

54. Peter Kaiser, Bethel

55. Kelly Maixner, Big Lake

56. Ed Stielstra, McMillan, Michigan

57.  James Bardoner, Signal Mountain, Tennessee

58. Jessie Royer, Fairbanks

59. Cim Smyth, Big Lake

60. Matt Giblin, Juneau

61) Matt Hayashida, Willow

62. Gerald Sousa, Talkeetna

63. Justin Savidis, Willow


Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works | Daily Post


Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows